Caged

I am a bird trapped in a cage

Picking my feathers

Gone mad with rage

 

Once I flew high above great twilight cloud

Conquered my fear

Lived strong and proud

 

Now I have slipped into the great depth below

My body is sluggish

My mind it moves slow

 

There is no freedom for the likes of me

This life is a trial

My soul yearns to be free

 

No strength to be gained from things that have passed

Here in the moment

No memory can last

 

But if I am patient and if I am true

This cage will be broken

This sentence past due

 

And so while you laugh as you stare through the bars

My strength returns to me

I am made of the stars

 

You cannot control me though my body’s confined

My spirit eternal

No bars round my mind

Leave a Reply

